Hate Crimes Bill and ENDA: What these bills mean for transgender people

From NCTE

The Matthew Shepard and James Byrd, Jr. Hate Crimes Prevention Act has passed both the House and Senate and is now headed for President Obama’s signature. This will be the very first piece of positive legislation for transgender people to ever become law.

NCTE will be holding a conference call to bring you up to date about what this new law will do for our community and how it fits into our larger goals of creating protections for transgender people.  We’ll provide you with information about the final steps for this bill and give you an opportunity to ask questions.

There is also another absolutely critical bill in process in both the House and the Senate: the Employment Non-Discrimination Act (ENDA). This bill is such an important tool for transgender people to address the rampant discrimination so many of us face daily in the workplace. We’ll give you updates about what is happening right now, what is ahead in the coming weeks and what you can do to help secure job protections for transgender people.

Join us on Wednesday, October 28, at 8:00 pm ET / 7:00 pm CT / 6:00 pm MT / 5:00 pm PT. The call is completely free but we do need you to register so we can reserve a phone line for you.

Registration for this call is required.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *